LANHAM, Md. (WNEW) — Washington’s restaurant scene was celebrated over the weekend at the 32nd annual RAMMY Awards, where the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington (RAMW) announced winners in 20 award categories.

This year’s ceremony introduced seven new awards categories: Upscale Casual Brunch; Everyday Casual Brunch; Cocktail Program of the Year; Beer Program of the Year; Service Program of the Year; Regional Food and Beverage Producer of the Year; and Favorite Fast Bites.

Winners were selected by the public and a panel of volunteer judges. The public was the sole decider on four categories: Favorite Gathering Place of the Year; Upscale Brunch; Everyday Casual Brunch; and Favorite Fast Bites.

The RAMMY Awards Gala, which took place Sunday night at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center, honored “the exceptional ability and accomplishments of the hard-working individuals and organizations of the region’s restaurants and food service community.”

This year’s RAMMYs winners are:

Formal Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year: Fiola
Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year: Ripple
Everyday Casual Restaurant of the Year: Toki Underground
New Restaurant of the Year: The Red Hen
Chef of the Year: Haidar Karoum, Doi Moi, Estadio, Proof
Rising Culinary Star of the Year: Michael Friedman, The Red Hen
Pastry Chef of the Year: Caitlin Dysart, 2941 Restaurant
Wine Program of the Year: Ripple
Cocktail Program of the Year*: Jack Rose Dining Saloon
Beer Program of the Year*: Birch and Barley / ChurchKey
Service Program of the Year*: Blue Duck Tavern
Restaurateur of the Year: Michael Babin, Neighborhood Restaurant Group
Regional Food and Beverage Producer of the Year*: Red Apron Butcher
Favorite Gathering Place of the Year: Hank’s Oyster Bar – Dupont Circle
Upscale Casual Brunch*: Mintwood Place
Everyday Casual Brunch*: Pearl Dive Oyster Palace
Favorite Fast Bites*: Amsterdam Falafelshop
Joan Hisaoka Allied Member of the Year: ProFish, Ltd.
Employee of the Year: Stelios Alexandris, 1789 Restaurant
Manager of the Year: Boo Young Kim, District Commons
*Denotes a new award in 2014

More Entertainment News

[display-posts category=”entertainment” wrapper=”ul” posts_per_page=”4″]


Leave a Reply