Hart Trophy

Alexander Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals kisses the Hart Trophy following the 2009 NHL Awards at the Palms Casino Resort.  (Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images for NHL)

Ovechkin, Price, Tavares Finalists for Hart Memorial Trophy

Washington forward Alex Ovechkin, Montreal goalie Carey Price and New York Islanders forward John Tavares are the finalists for the Hart Memorial Trophy as the NHL’s most valuable player.


Alex Ovechkin (credit: Greg Fiume/Getty Images)

Ovechkin Captures NHL’s Biggest Award

Alex Ovechkin capped his great season with the NHL’s biggest award. The Capitals right wing won his third Hart Trophy, given to the league’s MVP, on Saturday night, beating out Sidney Crosby and John Tavares.