By Chris Lingebach

WASHINGTON — The Nationals have announced their roster for the NLDS against the Dodgers.

Washington will carry 11 pitchers — six relief pitchers and five starters — and 14 positions players in the five-game series.

The five potential starters are Max Scherzer (Game 1 starter), Tanner Roark, Reynaldo Lopez, Joe Ross and Gio Gonzalez. The Nats also announced Roark will start Game 2 at home and Gonzalez will start Game 3 in Los Angeles.

Right-handed pitchers Shawn Kelley, Mark Melancon, Blake Treinen and left-handed pitchers Marc Rzepczynski, Oliver Perez and Sammy Solis are the established relievers.

The Nats will carry two catchers, switch-hitting Jose Lobaton and right-handed hitter Pedro Severino. Their infielders are lefties Stephen Drew, Daniel Murphy and Clint Robinson, switch-hitting Wilmer Difo and Danny Espinosa, and right-handers Anthony Rendon and Ryan Zimmerman.

Lefty Bryce Harper and righties Chris Heisey, Michael A. Taylor, Trea Turner and Jayson Werth will make up the outfield.

Notably absent from the roster are long reliever Yusmeiro Petit and left-handed hitting outfielder Ben Revere.

Follow @ChrisLingebach and @1067TheFan on Twitter.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From CBS DC

CBSLocal App
Watch Live

Listen Live