LANHAM, Md. (CBSDC) — Here is a list of the players participating in the 2014 Gillette Home Run Derby as well as a list of the new rules that will be used at Target Field in Minnesota.

American League

RF – Jose Bautista, Toronto Blue Jays*
3B – Josh Donaldson, Oakland A’s
2B – Brian Dozier, Minnesota Twins
CF – Adam Jones, Baltimore Orioles
LF – Yoenis Cespedes, Oakland A’s

National League

SS – Troy Tulowitzki, Colorado Rockies*
3B – Todd Frazier, Cincinnati Reds
1B – Justin Morneau, Colorado Rockies
RF – Yasiel Puig, Los Angeles Dodgers
RF – Giancarlo Stanton, Miami Marlins

* = Captain

Rules Changes

A number of new rules are being implemented this year in an effort to freshen up the event and speed up play.

Maximum of seven outs per round

Bracketed play after the first round

The AL and NL player who hits the most home runs in the first round receives an automatic bye to the third round.

The next two AL and NL players with the most home runs will go head-to-head in the second round.

The winners of the second round matchups will advance to the third round against the top seed in their respective league.

The winners of the A.L. and N.L. semfinals will go head-to-head to crown the champion.

Broadcast Info

TV: ESPN HD, ESPN Deportes
Online: WatchESPN
Time: 8:00 p.m. (ET)

Sports News And Rumors


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Listen Live