WASHINGTON (CBSDC) – The 2014 Washington D.C. Sports Hall of Fame class has been announced, and will include Charles “Lefty” Driesell, Johnny Holliday, Olaf “Olie” Kolzig, Ted Lerner, George Solomon, Michael Weiss and Chris Weller.

The new inductees, the Nationals announced Tuesday, will be honored during pregame festivities prior to a game against the San Diego Padres at Nationals Park on Sunday, April 27.

  • Charles “Lefty” Driesell – Former Men’s Basketball Head Coach, University of Maryland
  • Johnny Holliday – Sports Broadcaster, Voice of Maryland football & basketball and Nats Xtra television host on MASN
  • Olaf “Olie” Kolzig – Former Goalie, Washington Capitals
  • George Solomon – Former Sports Editor, The Washington Post
  • Theodore N. Lerner – Managing Principal Owner, Washington Nationals
  • Michael Weiss – Olympic and Professional Figure Skater
  • Chris Weller – Former Women’s Head Basketball Coach, University of Maryland

The honorees are selected based on the honor and recognition they’ve brought to Washington, D.C., with their individual contributions to the world sports.

Previous inductees have included Sammy Baugh, James Brown, Dominique Dawes, Josh Gibson, Walter Johnson, Sonny Jurgensen, Morgan Wootten and Bob Wolff.

Each honoree receives a plaque commemorating their induction, and their names are added to the Hall of Fame display, featured prominently on the broad side of the parking garage in left field at Nats Park.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Listen Live