LANDOVER, Md. (CBSDC/AP) — Referee Jeff Triplette says the down marker was moved incorrectly on the Washington Redskins’ last possession of a 24-17 loss to the New York Giants.

Speaking to a pool reporter after Monday night’s game, Triplette says play was not halted to correct the down marker because it happened in the last two minutes and the Redskins — who were out of timeouts — would have been given “an unfair advantage.”

On a second-and-5 play, Redskins quarterback Robert Griffin III completed a pass to Pierre Garcon. The play gained 4 yards, making it third-and-1, but the down marker was shifted, indicating there was a first down. Washington coach Mike Shanahan says he asked an official for a measurement and was told it was first down.

“I can’t respond to that,” Triplette said of Shanahan’s claim. “I don’t know what happened. I just know that we signaled third down on the play at the sideline.”

(TM and Copyright 2013 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2013 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS DC

CBSLocal App
Watch Live

Listen Live