328 Drivers Cited for Texting in Va. Since July 1
Get Breaking News First
RICHMOND, Va. — More than 300 motorists have been cited for texting while driving in Virginia since a new law went into effect July 1.
The law makes texting while driving a primary offense.
Virginia State Police said Tuesday that troopers cited 328 drivers from July 1 through Sept. 28 for violating the law.
Violators face a $125 fine for the first offense. Subsequent offenses carry a $250 fine.
State police Superintendent Col. W. Steven Flaherty says in a news release that texting while driving puts the driver, passengers and everyone else sharing the roadway at risk.
(© Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)