Maryland Police Remind Public: Move Over
Get Breaking News First
SILVER SPRING (CBSDC) — It was 2010 when Maryland passed the “move over” law, which allows police to impose fines on drivers who don’t move out of the lane adjacent to the breakdown lane when an emergency vehicle is parked on the side of the road.
Today, police are stepping up enforcement of the law after one trooper was struck and critically injured on the shoulder of Rt. 100 in Anne Arundel County on Oct. 6 and another trooper’s car was destroyed on Oct. 12 on I-695 in Baltimore County.
In both cases, drivers failed to move out of the lane or slow down, police say.
Trooper Jacqueline Kline, who was struck by a passing vehicle while she was assisting another trooper on the shoulder of Rt. 100, remains hospitalized.
“We think it’s an opportune time to make the public aware of the necessity of this law,” Greg Shipley, a spokesman for Maryland State Police, tells WNEW’s Jim MacKay.
Violating the move over law can put up to three points on your license and fines cost between $110 and $750.