106.7 The Fan All News 99.1 WNEW CBS Sports Radio 1580

Sports

Tiger Woods Not DQ’d for Illegal Drop, Assessed Two-Stroke Penalty Instead

by Chris Lingebach
View Comments
Tiger Woods of the United States drops his ball after he hits it into the water on the 15th hole during the second round of the 2013 Masters Tournament at Augusta National Golf Club on April 12, 2013 in Augusta, Georgia.  (Credit: Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images)

Tiger Woods of the United States drops his ball after he hits it into the water on the 15th hole during the second round of the 2013 Masters Tournament at Augusta National Golf Club on April 12, 2013 in Augusta, Georgia. (Credit: Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images)

More from 106.7 the Fan

WASHINGTON (CBSDC) - Tiger Woods (1-under) will not be disqualified for his illegal drop during the second round of the Masters on Friday, CBS Sports is reporting, but instead will be assessed a two-stroke penalty placing him five strokes behind leader Jason Day to start the third round Saturday.

The drop in question came on the 15th hole, after Woods’ approach shot hit the flagstick and rolled back into the water.

He elected to take a drop “as nearly as possible” from where he played his last shot, however the ball appeared to be closer to the hole after video review of the drop.

Rumors of Woods possibly being disqualified swirled overnight into Saturday morning awaiting a decision from Augusta National, which ultimately assessed the stroke penalty based on USGA rule 33-7.

Woods is scheduled to tee off with Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano at 1:45 p.m. on Saturday.

View the Leaderboard here. Follow 106.7 The Fan on Twitter for frequent Masters updates.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,591 other followers