Gonzalez Drops NL Cy Young to Dickey

WASHINGTON (CBSDC) – Unfortunately for Nats fans Gio Gonzalez isn’t able to add Cy Young Award to the already impressive list of end-of-season honors Washington has racked up.

Mets pitcher R.A. Dickey becomes the league’s first knuckleballer to win the honor by taking home the 2012 National Laeague Cy Young Award.

The Baseball Writers of America chose Dickey’s 20 wins that led an ailing 74-win Mets franchise over Gonzalez’ 21-victory, 207-strikeout season the Nationals depended on to carry them to their first playoff appearance in 79 years, after losing Strasburg for the last month of the pennant race.

Don’t hang your heads though Nats fans. Plenty of fans from other cities would love to have their team’s past season commemorated with the Manager of the Year, like Davey Johnson, or the renewed faith in the future claiming a Rookie of the Year, like Bryce Harper brings.

Just ask the 74-win Mets.


More From CBS DC

D.C. Lottery Live
Follow and Like Us

Listen Live