106.7 The Fan All News 99.1 WNEW CBS Sports Radio 1580

Latest Sports

Davey Johnson Wins 2012 NL Manager of the Year

View Comments
Credit: Rob Carr/Getty Images

Credit: Rob Carr/Getty Images

Nationals Central
Shop for Nationals Gear
Buy Nationals Tickets

MLB Scoreboard
MLB Standings
Team Schedule
Team Roster
Team Injuries

More Sports

Sports Fan Insider

Keep up with your favorite teams and athletes with daily updates.
Sign Up

WASHINGTON (CBSDC) - Washington Nationals manager Davey Johnson has been named the 2012 National League Manager of the Year.

This is the second time Johnson won manager of the year – honored as the American League Manager of the Year with the Orioles in 1997 – mak

This victory puts Johnson in a special place in baseball history. With his second manager of the year award – won AL Manager of the Year with the Orioles in 1997 – he becomes just the fourth manager to win the award in both leagues.

He claimed a majority victory, receiving 23 of 32 first-place votes.

The Nationals franchise has had a successful campaign for end-of-season awards. On Monday, outfielder Bryce Harper was named the 2012 National League Rookie of the Year.

Starting pitcher Gio Gonzalez still awaits to see if he will win the 2012 National League Cy Young Award. That announcement will come on Wednesday.

To the north, Orioles manager Buck Showalter was not victorious. He lost the American League Manager of the Year honors to Oakland Athletics manager Bob Melvin.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus