ANNAPOLIS, Md. (CBSDC/AP) — Maryland Sen. Benjamin Cardin won the Democratic primary Tuesday night for a second term, staving off challenges from eight candidates.

Cardin, who was elected to the Senate in 2006 after 10 terms in the House of Representatives, handily won against a field that included Maryland state Sen. C. Anthony Muse of Prince George’s County.

Preliminary elections results show Cardin with 83 percent of the vote, with less than one percent of precincts reporting. Muse was the next closest candidate with nine percent.

Cardin picked up key Democratic endorsements, including from President Barack Obama, Gov. Martin O’Malley, Lt. Gov. Anthony Brown, Baltimore Mayor Stephanie Rawlings-Blake and Kweisi Mfume, a former congressman and head of the NAACP.

Ten candidates are vying for the GOP nomination. They include former U.S. Secret Service agent Daniel Bongino and Richard Douglas, a Pentagon appointee during the Bush administration.

Cardin cited his experience as a reason for voting for him.

“I don’t know him very well, but he’s experienced,” said Jane Lincoln, an 80-year-old retired clinical social worker after voting in Chevy Chase. “He’s been there for six years and that’s fine.”

Muse, a pastor, has been a member of the state Senate since 2007. Before that, he served in the House of Delegates from 1995 to 1999.

There were seven other candidates on the Democratic ballot: Raymond Blagmon, J.P. Cusick, Chris Garner. Ralph Jaffe, Blaine Taylor, Ed Tinus and Lih Young.

Republican primary voters also cited experience as a top reason for their decisions at the polls.

“I think it’s the experience factor,” said Padmini Nair, a 64-year-old Republican who said she voted for Douglas at a Chevy Chase polling place.

Bongino was endorsed by several state lawmakers, including state Sen. Edward Reilly, and Delegates Jeannie Haddaway-Riccio, Nic Kipke and Cathy Vitale. Douglas received endorsements from former Ambassador to the United Nations John Bolton, Maryland Delegate Bill Frank and former Maryland Republican Party Chairwoman Audrey Scott.

There are eight other GOP candidates in the race. They are Joseph Alexander, Robert Broadus, William Capps, Rick Hoover, David Jones, John Kimble, Brian Vaeth and Corrogan Vaughn.

In the Republican Presidential Primary, Mitt Romney coasted to an easy victory that exceeded all expecations.

(TM and Copyright 2012 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2012 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Listen Live